Swimming

Swimming is one of the most popular sports in world. Unlike other sports, swimming is a life skill that is taught, first, to ensure safety and, secondly, for sports and competition purposes. Swimming covers a great variety of skills, from short sprints to longer events and relays.

Because of the wide array of events offered, aquatics is appropriate for a range of ages and ability levels. Swimming competition events are conducted with a variety of strokes. Special Olympics also offers events for lower ability level athletes to train and compete in basic aquatics skills. The development of these basic skills are necessary to progress to other competitive events.

Special Olympics Washington currently offers Swim training in all 16 of its areas.

FUN FACTS: Swimming was an event at the first Special Olympics International Games held in Chicago, Illinois, in 1968. At the 2003 Special Olympics World Summer Games held in Dublin, Ireland, 573 athletes representing 97 Special Olympics programs competed in swimming.

Local Community Contacts

Capitol Area Director
Mark Barker
Bballdad11@comcast.net

Columbia River Area Director
Elizabeth Francis
Elizabeth.francis@outlook.com

North Central Area Director
Stephen Opland
Sopland@sowa.org

North King County Area Director
Mike Quinn
Mquinn@nwcenter.org

Northeast Area Director
Stephen Opland
Sopland@sowa.org

Northwest Area Director
Lavonne Olsen
Lolsen@superfeet.com

Olympic Peninsula Area Director
Sandy Hall
Pensowa2015@yahoo.com

Snohomish / Island Area Director
Punkie Doyle
Tclk@comcast.net

South Central Area Director
Ken Martinson
Kmartinson829@gmail.com

South King County Area Director
Bruce Talbert
Btalbert8@comcast.net

Southeast Area Director
Lori Landrus
Lorilandrus@yahoo.com

Upcoming Swimming Events