Softball

Special Olympics softball is an exciting team sport. Athletes can participate in individual skills, coach pitch, or traditional slow-pitch. The softball individual skills competition allows athletes to train and compete in basic softball skills. The development of these key skills is necessary prior to advancing to team competition. These skills include base running, fielding and throwing. A player’s final score is determined by adding up his or her scores in the different events.

As in all Special Olympics sports, athletes are grouped in competition divisions according to ability level, age and gender.

Special Olympics softball was introduced in 1983.

Local Community Contacts

Capitol Area Director
Mark Barker
Bballdad11@comcast.net

Cascade Area Director
Punkie Doyle
Snohomishad@outlook.com

Columbia River Area Director
Barry Gill; Elizabeth Francis
Barry.gill@pkinetics.com; Elizabeth.francis@outlook.com

King County Area Director

North Central Area Director
Donnie Bagwell
Dbagwellsowa@gmail.com

Northeast Area Director
Brenda Devine
BdevineSOWA@gmail.com

Peninsula Area Director
Rebecca Fry
Rebeccaayn2018@gmail.com

Southeast Area Director
Lori Landrus
Llandrussowa@gmail.com

Tri-Cities Area Director
Donna Tracy
Donnat@arcoftricities.com

Valley Area Director
Tim McDonald
Tmcdonald@kellehermotors.com

Upcoming Softball Events