Softball

Special Olympics softball is an exciting team sport. Athletes can participate in individual skills, coach pitch, or traditional slow-pitch. The softball individual skills competition allows athletes to train and compete in basic softball skills. The development of these key skills is necessary prior to advancing to team competition. These skills include base running, fielding and throwing. A player’s final score is determined by adding up his or her scores in the different events.

As in all Special Olympics sports, athletes are grouped in competition divisions according to ability level, age and gender.

Special Olympics softball was introduced in 1983.

Local Community Contacts

Capital Area Director
Mark Barker
Bballdad11@comcast.net

Cascade Area Director
Punkie Doyle
Snohomishad@outlook.com

Columbia River Area Director
Justin Kautz
Jkautz@sowa.org

North Central Area Director
Donnie Bagwell
Dbagwellsowa@gmail.com

North King County Area Director
Mike Quinn
Mquinn@nwcenter.org

Northeast Area Director
Brenda Devine
Brenda.devine.ot@gmail.com

Northwest - Now part of Cascade Area Area Director

Peninsula Area Director
Sandy Hall
Pensowa2015@yahoo.com

South Central Area Director
Ken Martinson
Kmartinsonsowa@gmail.com

South King County Area Director
Patrick Graff
Patrick.graff.skcsowa@outlook.com

Southeast Area Director
Lori Landrus
Lorilandrus@yahoo.com

Upcoming Softball Events