Softball

Special Olympics softball is an exciting team sport. Athletes can participate in individual skills, coach pitch, or traditional slow-pitch. The softball individual skills competition allows athletes to train and compete in basic softball skills. The development of these key skills is necessary prior to advancing to team competition. These skills include base running, fielding and throwing. A player’s final score is determined by adding up his or her scores in the different events.

As in all Special Olympics sports, athletes are grouped in competition divisions according to ability level, age and gender.

Special Olympics softball was introduced in 1983.

Local Community Contacts

Capitol Area Director
Mark Barker
Bballdad11@comcast.net

Columbia River Area Director
Elizabeth Francis
Elizabeth.francis@outlook.com

North Central Area Director
Stephen Opland
Sopland@sowa.org

North King County Area Director
Mike Quinn
Mquinn@nwcenter.org

Northeast Area Director
Stephen Opland
Sopland@sowa.org

Northwest Area Director
Lavonne Olsen
Admin@sobellingham.org

Olympic Peninsula Area Director
Sandy Hall
Pensowa2015@yahoo.com

Snohomish Area Director
Punkie Doyle
Snohomishad@gmail.com

South Central Area Director
Ken Martinson
Kmartinson829@gmail.com

South King County Area Director
Justin Kautz
Jkautz@sowa.org

Southeast Area Director
Lori Landrus
Lorilandrus@yahoo.com

Upcoming Softball Events