Soccer

Soccer is possibly the world's most popular team sport. Soccer (football) is the world’s most popular sport. Athletes have the opportunity to compete on teams as well as in Individual Skills Competition, which develops basic soccer skills. Special Olympics Washington is proud to host many Unified and Traditional Soccer Teams all across the state, with the number of athletes participation growing each season.

We are also very excited to have a booming partnership with the Sounders FC team. This partnership provides opportunities such as training camps with Sounders Players, Unified Exchanges with Unified Special Olympics teams from other states, and the crossbar challenge at half time during home Sounders games.

Soccer became an official Special Olympics sport in 1979 at the World Summer Games.

Local Community Contacts

Basin Area Director
Donnie Bagwell
 NCentralAD@sowa.org

Capitol Area Director
Alysanne Stack (Interim Director)
Astack@sowa.org

Cascade Area Director
Punkie Doyle
CascadeAD@sowa.org

Columbia River Area Director
Barry Gill; Elizabeth Francis
Barry.gill@pkinetics.com; Elizabeth.francis@outlook.com

King County Area Director
Lindsey Cornish
KingCountyAD@sowa.org

North Central Area Director
Luke Wall
Lwall@sowa.org

Northeast Area Director
Brenda Devine
BdevineSOWA@gmail.com

Peninsula Area Director
Wendy Bonham
PeninsulaAD@sowa.org

Pierce County Area Director
Ed Hazel
PierceCountyAD@sowa.org

Southeast Area Director
Lori Landrus
SoutheastAD@SOWA.org

Tri-Cities Area Director
Donna Tracy
Donnat@arcoftricities.com

Valley Area Director
Tim McDonald
Tmcdonald@kellehermotors.com

Upcoming Soccer Events