Soccer

Soccer is possibly the world's most popular team sport. Soccer (football) is the world’s most popular sport. Athletes have the opportunity to compete on teams as well as in Individual Skills Competition, which develops basic soccer skills. Special Olympics Washington is proud to host many Unified and Traditional Soccer Teams all across the state, with the number of athletes participation growing each season.

We are also very excited to have a booming partnership with the Sounders FC team. This partnership provides opportunities such as training camps with Sounders Players, Unified Exchanges with Unified Special Olympics teams from other states, and the crossbar challenge at half time during home Sounders games.

Soccer became an official Special Olympics sport in 1979 at the World Summer Games.

Local Community Contacts

Capitol Area Director
Mark Barker
Bballdad11@comcast.net

Columbia River Area Director
Elizabeth Francis
Elizabeth.francis@outlook.com

North Central Area Director
Stephen Opland
Sopland@sowa.org

North King County Area Director
Mike Quinn
Mquinn@nwcenter.org

Northeast Area Director
Stephen Opland
Sopland@sowa.org

Northwest Area Director
Lavonne Olsen
Lolsen@superfeet.com

Olympic Peninsula Area Director
Sandy Hall
Pensowa2015@yahoo.com

Snohomish / Island Area Director
Punkie Doyle
Tclk@comcast.net

South Central Area Director
Ken Martinson
Kmartinson829@gmail.com

South King County Area Director
Bruce Talbert
Btalbert8@comcast.net

Southeast Area Director
Lori Landrus
Lorilandrus@yahoo.com

Upcoming Soccer Events