Soccer

Soccer is possibly the world's most popular team sport. Soccer (football) is the world’s most popular sport. Athletes have the opportunity to compete on teams as well as in Individual Skills Competition, which develops basic soccer skills. Special Olympics Washington is proud to host many Unified and Traditional Soccer Teams all across the state, with the number of athletes participation growing each season.

We are also very excited to have a booming partnership with the Sounders FC team. This partnership provides opportunities such as training camps with Sounders Players, Unified Exchanges with Unified Special Olympics teams from other states, and the crossbar challenge at half time during home Sounders games.

Soccer became an official Special Olympics sport in 1979 at the World Summer Games.

Local Community Contacts

Capital Area Director
Mark Barker
Bballdad11@comcast.net

Cascade Area Director
Punkie Doyle
Snohomishad@outlook.com

Columbia River Area Director
Justin Kautz
Jkautz@sowa.org

North Central Area Director
Donnie Bagwell
Dbagwellsowa@gmail.com

North King County Area Director
Mike Quinn
Mquinn@nwcenter.org

Northeast Area Director
Brenda Devine
Brenda.devine.ot@gmail.com

Northwest - Now part of Cascade Area Area Director

Peninsula Area Director
Justin Kautz
Jkautz@sowa.org

South Central Area Director
Luke Wall
Lwall@sowa.org

South King County Area Director
Patrick Graff
Patrick.graff.skcsowa@outlook.com

Southeast Area Director
Lori Landrus
Llandrussowa@gmail.com

Upcoming Soccer Events