Powerlifting

In Special Olympics Powerlifting is much more than deadlift, squat or bench press. It is effort, persistence and loyalty. Training, determination and attitude, are the key facts that define the balance between a successful or a failed attempt. The bar may test an athlete’s physical abilities, but an internal desire to improve — to not settle for less — is the drive behind the strain and dedication of the sport.

Special Olympics powerlifters are eligible to compete in three lifts: the bench press, the deadlift and the squat, or in combinations of these events. As in all Special Olympics sports, athletes are grouped in competitive divisions according to ability level, age and gender.

Powerlifting was introduced to Special Olympics in 1983.
The 2003 Special Olympics World Summer Games powerlifting event had a total of 129 competitors representing more than 20 programs in the squat, bench press, deadlift and combination events.

Local Community Contacts

Capitol Area Director
Mark Barker
Bballdad11@comcast.net

Columbia River Area Director
Elizabeth Francis
Elizabeth.francis@outlook.com

North Central Area Director
Jennifer Mason
Jmason@othelloschools.org

North King County Area Director
Mike Quinn
Mquinn@nwcenter.org

Northeast Area Director
Stephen Opland
Sopland@sowa.org

Olympic Peninsula Area Director
Sandy Hall
Pensowa2015@yahoo.com

Snohomish / Island Area Director
Punkie Doyle
Tclk@comcast.net

South King County Area Director
Bruce Talbert
Btalbert8@comcast.net

Upcoming Powerlifting Events