Basketball

Basketball is one of the top sports for Special Olympics Washington. Players take it up at all ages and at all abilities, from young players learning to handle the ball and keep it under control while dribbling to older, more experienced players who have the moves and know the strategies to play challenging ball. We offer team events as well as individual skills competitions that help athletes train and compete in basic basketball skills before advancing to team play.

It is also one of the favorite sports for the Special Olympics Unified Sports initiative, when players with and without intellectual disabilities form teams to play other unified teams. It's a learning experience that brings together communities and helps foster a spirit of inclusion.

Basketball is offered in all 16 of Special Olympics Washington’s Areas.

Basketball was first contested in 1968 at the first Special Olympics Games in Chicago, Ill.

Local Community Contacts

Capitol Area Director
Mark Barker
Bballdad11@comcast.net

Columbia River Area Director
Elizabeth Francis
Elizabeth.francis@outlook.com

North Central Area Director
Stephen Opland
Sopland@sowa.org

North King County Area Director
Mike Quinn
Mquinn@nwcenter.org

Northeast Area Director
Stephen Opland
Sopland@sowa.org

Northwest Area Director
Lavonne Olsen
Admin@sobellingham.org

Olympic Peninsula Area Director
Sandy Hall
Pensowa2015@yahoo.com

Snohomish Area Director
Punkie Doyle
Snohomishad@gmail.com

South Central Area Director
Ken Martinson
Kmartinson829@gmail.com

South King County Area Director
Justin Kautz
Jkautz@sowa.org

Southeast Area Director
Lori Landrus
Lorilandrus@yahoo.com

Upcoming Basketball Events