Athletics

The sport of athletics encourages athletes of all abilities and ages to compete at their optimum level. Through the track-and-field-based athletics training program, participants can develop total fitness to compete in any sport. As with all Special Olympics sports, athletics offers athletes the opportunity to learn through skill development and competitive settings and to be involved in large social settings. Athletics Programs in Washington State include individual skills, sprints, walking, long distance runs, jumping events, field competitions and more.

Athletics programs and competitions are offered in all 16 of Special Olympics Washington’s areas, and provide opportunities for athletes of all ages and abilities.

Athletics was an event at the first Special Olympics International Games held in Chicago, Illinois in 1968.

Local Community Contacts

Capitol Area Director
Mark Barker
Bballdad11@comcast.net

Cascade Area Director
Punkie Doyle
Snohomishad@outlook.com

Columbia River Area Director
Barry Gill; Elizabeth Francis
Barry.gill@pkinetics.com; Elizabeth.francis@outlook.com

King County Area Director

North Central Area Director
Donnie Bagwell
Dbagwellsowa@gmail.com

Northeast Area Director
Brenda Devine
BdevineSOWA@gmail.com

Peninsula Area Director
Rebecca Fry
Rebeccaayn2018@gmail.com

Southeast Area Director
Nikki Thompson
Nthompsonsowa@gmail.com

Tri-Cities Area Director
Donna Tracy
Donnat@arcoftricities.com

Valley Area Director
Tim McDonald
Tmcdonald@kellehermotors.com

Walla-Walla Area Director
Tracy Gaines
Wwsoteam@gmail.com

Upcoming Athletics Events