Athletics

The sport of athletics encourages athletes of all abilities and ages to compete at their optimum level. Through the track-and-field-based athletics training program, participants can develop total fitness to compete in any sport. As with all Special Olympics sports, athletics offers athletes the opportunity to learn through skill development and competitive settings and to be involved in large social settings. Athletics Programs in Washington State include individual skills, sprints, walking, long distance runs, jumping events, field competitions and more.

Athletics programs and competitions are offered in all 16 of Special Olympics Washington’s areas, and provide opportunities for athletes of all ages and abilities.

Athletics was an event at the first Special Olympics International Games held in Chicago, Illinois in 1968.

Local Community Contacts

Capitol Area Director
Mark Barker
Bballdad11@comcast.net

Columbia River Area Director
Elizabeth Francis
Elizabeth.francis@outlook.com

North Central Area Director
Stephen Opland
Sopland@sowa.org

North King County Area Director
Mike Quinn
Mquinn@nwcenter.org

Northeast Area Director
Stephen Opland
Sopland@sowa.org

Northwest Area Director
Lavonne Olsen
Admin@sobellingham.org

Olympic Peninsula Area Director
Sandy Hall
Pensowa2015@yahoo.com

Snohomish Area Director
Punkie Doyle
Snohomishad@gmail.com

South Central Area Director
Ken Martinson
Kmartinson829@gmail.com

South King County Area Director
Justin Kautz
Jkautz@sowa.org

Southeast Area Director
Lori Landrus
Lorilandrus@yahoo.com

Upcoming Athletics Events