Athletics

The sport of athletics encourages athletes of all abilities and ages to compete at their optimum level. Through the track-and-field-based athletics training program, participants can develop total fitness to compete in any sport. As with all Special Olympics sports, athletics offers athletes the opportunity to learn through skill development and competitive settings and to be involved in large social settings. Athletics Programs in Washington State include individual skills, sprints, walking, long distance runs, jumping events, field competitions and more.

Athletics programs and competitions are offered in all 16 of Special Olympics Washington’s areas, and provide opportunities for athletes of all ages and abilities.

Athletics was an event at the first Special Olympics International Games held in Chicago, Illinois in 1968.

Local Community Contacts

Capital Area Director
Mark Barker
Bballdad11@comcast.net

Cascade Area Director
Punkie Doyle
Snohomishad@outlook.com

Columbia River Area Director
Justin Kautz
Jkautz@sowa.org

North Central Area Director
Donnie Bagwell
Dbagwellsowa@gmail.com

North King County Area Director
Mike Quinn
Mquinn@nwcenter.org

Northeast Area Director
Brenda Devine
Brenda.devine.ot@gmail.com

Northwest - Now part of Cascade Area Area Director

Peninsula Area Director
Justin Kautz
Jkautz@sowa.org

South Central Area Director
Luke Wall
Lwall@sowa.org

South King County Area Director
Patrick Graff
Patrick.graff.skcsowa@outlook.com

Southeast Area Director
Lori Landrus
Llandrussowa@gmail.com

Upcoming Athletics Events